The Ciego de Ávila Tigers once again became the winners of the Cuban baseball series, consolidating their dynasty in the national sport after defeating Los Vegueros de Pinar del Río team in the finals, 4:3.

The Ciego de Ávila Tigers once again became the winners of the Cuban baseball series, consolidating their dynasty in the national sport after defeating Los Vegueros de Pinar del Río team in the finals, 4:3.On the way to their victory, the Ciego de Ávila team had beaten the Lions of Industriales (Havana) in the semifinals in only four games, and then the Pinar del Rio team in the finals.

This new win holds an added value given that Industriales and Pinar del Río have been the top two winning teams in the history of Cuban baseball, with 12 and 10 wins, respectively.

“Winning titles is always good, it means we are on the right track and that we’re doing things correctly. We will keep on like this, to continue rewarding the people of Ciego de Ávila with success, as they really do deserve it,” said Ciego de Ávila’s manager Roger Machado.

About six years ago, the Ciego de Ávila team was nothing other than a competitive team, one of those teams that was continuously improving its level and when the time came, “it played better than ever but would be defeated anyway,” a famous commentator once said.

History has changed however. The cycles began to vary in Cuba and several provinces began to take the leading role, to the detriment of the historic top four Cuban teams: Industriales, Pinar del Río, Santiago de Cuba and Villa Clara.

The Ciego de Ávila team was one of those emerging teams in the postmodern period of Cuban baseball, mainly ever since Machado became their manager in 2008.

Machado, a strict man, able to learn from his mistakes and grow accordingly, has become Cuba’s most famous baseball manager these days. He has wisely led the Tigers to victory three times: in 2012, 2015 and now in 2016, not to mention the second place won by the team in 2011 and the third place in 2009.

With all three victories, he has become the fourth manager with the highest number of national series wins, a position that he shares with Rey Vicente Anglada, Antonio Pacheco, Pedro Jova and Alfonso Urquiola and only preceded by Jorge Fuentes (5), Ramón Carneado (4) and Higinio Vélez (4).

The Ciego de Ávila team’s dynasty is largely owed to its team work, the great performance of its pitchers and a close offensive lineup featuring an almost perfect combination of both veteran and young players and several backup players from other Cuban provinces.

With these two consecutive titles in the national series, the Tigers have earned a privileged position, as only four of the leading Cuban baseball teams, in addition to the famous Henequeneros de Matanzas team, had recorded such a feat in the history of Cuban baseball.

Share on FB Share on TT